Home   |   Feedback   |   Contact us
History of Thiruvengadu Swargiya Brahmashri Subramanya Ganapadigal, founder of TSGV Sabha
Thiruvengadu Brahmashri Subramanya Ganapadigal was born in the year 1916 (Rakshasa - month Thai - star Uthiratadhi) in Thiruvengadu, Sirkazhi Thaluk erstwhile district of Tanjore to village Munsif Shri Gopala Iyer- Smt Meenakshi. Brahmashri Subramanya Ganapadigal lost his father at his early age. But as per his uncle’s advice he was sent to Shri Thaadalan Perumal Kovil Veda Padasalai, Sirkazhli, for early learning of Vedas. He also learnt Veda at Vaidheeswaran Kovil Padasalai and obtained the title ‘Ganapadigal’. He was closely associated with the Acharya’s of Shri Kanchi Mutt and Shri  Sringeri Mutt.
According to teachings of Veda on ‘Dharmapraja Samvatsaram his marriage was solemnized with Sow. Kamalambal alias Pattammal who was the eldest daughter of Shri Subramanya Iyer - Smt  Vaalambal.  His focus was to conduct Vedaparayana in a peaceful atmosphere at his native.  Therefore he started conducting parayanam at the shrine of Shri Brahma Vidhyambal sametha Shri Swetharanyeswara Shri Agoramurthy. In the year 1938, the first parayanam was conducted in the company of Mayavaram ‘Kali’ Shri Balasubramanya Ganapadigal and Marayur Sankaranarayana Sastrigal (Kunju Sastrigal). In the year 1939, being the second year of parayana he came to know that Shri Kanchi Kamakoti Peedathipathi Jagadguru Shri Maha Periyaval was camping at Melur, Tanjore District. He went there to have his dharshan. Acharya blessed him to continue this service for many more years.  Later on, he settled in Mambalam, Chennai with his family.
During his stay at Chennai, he was deeply involved in the activities of  Shri Kanchi Sankara Mutt. He also organized Sankara Jayanthi enthusiastically along with his friends. He himself prepared prasadham in huge quantity to feed the needy. His conviction to conduct vedaparayanam and deep generosity is reflected through is act of selling his wife’s mangalsutra to mobilize money for conduct of vedhaparayanam. With this he was able to give sambavana of Rs 3.00 to each vedic scholars.
As requested by Shri. Vaidhya Subramanya Iyer, who was an ardent devotee of Shri Kanchi Periyaval, and with His Holiness’s blessing Subramanya Ganapadigal stayed in a thatched shed at Adayar Shri Anantha Padmanabha Swami Temple for performing Mandala Puja (45 days) during its first mahakumbhabhishekam in 1962. He along with 5- 10 vedic scholars chanted Vedic Mantras in the temple premises. He himself performed daily Pooja and prepared neivedhiyam and offered it to Lord Padhmanabha.
Swargiya Brahmashri Subramanya Ganapadigal conducted veda parayana for 43 years at Thiruvengadu. During its 44th year (1982) he organized the parayanam at Varanasi alias Kasi along with 100 vedhic scholars and 1000s of ashthika. Kasi Maharaja honoured the Ganapadigal. From the year 1983 to 1985 veda paraynam was organized at Chidambaram, Thiruvannamalai , Swamimalai.
During the year 1986 as desired by Shri Kanchi Kamakoti Mahaperiyaval it was decided to organize Vedaparayana at Kanchi Kamakshi Amman Temple, Kanchipuram. As per the wishes of Mahaperiyaval the Maharudhram was held at Mahamandapam, where Shri Chandramouliswara puja was usually held. Though the Ganapadigal was not keeping in good health he took extreme care to conduct the vedhaparayanam and maharudhram, till its conclusion, and received bountiful blessings of the Paramacharya, Shri Jayendra Saraswathi Swamigal and Shri Vijayenda Saraswathi Swamigal.
Within few days of completion of the vedhaparayanam and maharudhram at Kanchi, the Ganapadigal attained moksha on 1st March 1986, at Kanchi itself.
Home   |   About Thiruvengadu   |   History - Thiruvengadu   |   Trustees-TSGV   |   Vedic Scholars   |   Managing Trustee   |   Gallery   |   Contact Us
TSGV Relgious Trust
Plot No. 31, Door no. 14, Veda Bhavan
Vivekananda Street, Nilamangai Nagar, Adambakkam, Chennai - 600 088.
Phone: 044 - 2260 0820, Mobile: +91 - 94446 27954, +91 - 99625 70773
Copyright © T.S.G.V. Religious Trust (Regd.) 2014